1. No user installed addons are supported, python or otherwise.
2. No, they really are not supported.
3. They are not coming back
4. Read from 1. again

Any mention of illegal streaming sites, addons or any pirated material will not be tolerated. This is not democracy and any offenders will be banned and posts deleted immediately without warning.

Other than that, we hope you enjoy MrMC so far and we welcome any input and feedback you might have.

Team MrMC.

switching to 120hz output instead of 24hz

Nvidia Shield TV Video playback support subforum
Post Reply
cosmoxl
Posts: 1545
Joined: 12 Dec 2015, 14:16

switching to 120hz output instead of 24hz

Post by cosmoxl » 13 Mar 2019, 17:47

MrMC is switching for the file below to 120hz output instead of 24hz output. See the log and the mediainfo below.

FYI, playback in the Plex app on shield is correct at 24hz output.

https://paste2.org/205zFdJ3

Code: Select all

Video 
ID : 1 
Format : AVC 
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec 
Format profile : High@L4 
Format settings : CABAC / 4 Ref Frames 
Format settings, CABAC : Yes 
Format settings, RefFrames : 4 frames 
Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC 
Duration : 41 min 33 s 
Bit rate : 10.7 Mb/s 
Width : 1 920 pixels 
Height : 1 080 pixels 
Display aspect ratio : 16:9 
Frame rate mode : Constant 
Frame rate : 24.000 FPS 
Color space : YUV 
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0 
Bit depth : 8 bits 
Scan type : Progressive 
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.215 
Stream size : 3.11 GiB (94%) 
Default : Yes 
Forced : No 
Color range : Limited 
Color primaries : BT.709 
Transfer characteristics : BT.709 
Matrix coefficients : BT.709 

User avatar
koying
Team MrMC
Posts: 388
Joined: 20 Mar 2016, 17:49

Re: switching to 120hz output instead of 24hz

Post by koying » 13 Mar 2019, 18:14

As 120 is a multiple of 24, this is expected, really (same with 25 and 50). MrMC goes to the highest multiple.
Is there an issue with those playing @ 120?

cosmoxl
Posts: 1545
Joined: 12 Dec 2015, 14:16

Re: switching to 120hz output instead of 24hz

Post by cosmoxl » 13 Mar 2019, 21:18

koying wrote:
13 Mar 2019, 18:14
As 120 is a multiple of 24, this is expected, really (same with 25 and 50). MrMC goes to the highest multiple.
Is there an issue with those playing @ 120?
I understand the concept. I should have explained why I didn't like what was happening. Oddly enough, it looks choppy on my TV. Playback in the Plex app, which switches to 24hz, looks proper.

Would it be a problem to just switch to the actual matching framerate and not a higher multiple? Speaking of that, I get a smoother picture watching 25hz material at 25hz rather than the 50hz output that MrMC does.

User avatar
koying
Team MrMC
Posts: 388
Joined: 20 Mar 2016, 17:49

Re: switching to 120hz output instead of 24hz

Post by koying » 14 Mar 2019, 10:32

It makes actual sense with 25/50 for interlaced, as there the framerate might be doubled (and it's actually the case on shield). Not for 24/120, ofc.

I'll see if we already have the interlaced information at framerate switching time, and not use multiple if not interlaced.
In any case, it doesn't make sense to multiply by more than 2, factually.

cosmoxl
Posts: 1545
Joined: 12 Dec 2015, 14:16

Re: switching to 120hz output instead of 24hz

Post by cosmoxl » 14 Mar 2019, 12:59

koying wrote:
14 Mar 2019, 10:32
It makes actual sense with 25/50 for interlaced, as there the framerate might be doubled (and it's actually the case on shield). Not for 24/120, ofc.

I'll see if we already have the interlaced information at framerate switching time, and not use multiple if not interlaced.
In any case, it doesn't make sense to multiply by more than 2, factually.
Sounds great!

Post Reply